top of page
  • Writer's picturePaul Letchworth

Week 9 20 Nov Statement writing and Ethnography Task

Updated: Dec 3, 2023


Podcasts, videos and galleries visited




Research and experimentation:

Ethnography task ; Main thing this week was presenting about the visit to the Alive church made as a part of this exercise. This led to a range of discussions about the church during the session, exploring who it is for? what it does and how it works within the community.The experience that I had in the Grantham church I found to be very "out of my comfort zone" - It was interesting explore the inside/outside research approach on a public event such as this.




Studio Practice:

Finalising the artist statement for the Open studio WIP:

Open Studio Work in progress

In my recent work I have been intrigued by ways to abstract from secondary sources through the screen. Photos taken from live video coverage and event photos of the Grand tours in cycling are my inspiration. Working with individual photos or several frames from the finish line or a moment within the race I enjoy exploring ways to break free from the image.

I embrace accidental image distortions and glitches into my drawing, prints and painting, whether through the act of capturing the source images, the making of print (digital or handmade) or the play driven by mark making. All of these stages in the work present me with important intuitive or reflective decision making.

On show are some of my “workings out” for two mixed media paintings. In the preliminary work in the folders and on the wall, I have been experimenting with techniques and approaches to mark making, surface layers, colour combinations and line, colour and composition.


Further research and investigation into the Studio Foundation of the Society of Finnish Artists​

Continued working on my paintings in my studio:

Cavandish road markings diptych on paper - exploring acrylic painting and spray paint layers. In Cav 2 oil painting, I started to focus more on the road markings, this has now led me to revisit the video and pull out new frames which have more markings than riders, whilst capturing the elation of Cavendish at the finish line. I was also intrigued as to how I could bring into the work, the sillouette of the crowd, the disruption of the still road when the riders appeared and the changing shots that I have been working from. Here are the 2 images that I cropped and took from the YouTube GCN footage. I quite liked the text and how it sums up the pain of competitive sport.




Peloton progress




My work and anything inspiring....


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page